Though I walk through the dark alley, I will fear no evil.

I was assigned at Room 101, at the farthest end of the building. It was in a resort in a secluded area in Chiang Mai, Thailand where we stayed for a 5-day conference and team building last January. We usually arrive late after dinner and it was a struggle for me to go back to my room every night. Imagine your colleagues disappearing one by one as they say good night, locking their doors behind you and you are left alone walking down the alley with dim lights on a chilly 8-degree-centigrade night. And your room is, yes, at the farthest end. Those walks in four nights seemed to last like forever. But I had no choice but to keep on walking until I reach my room. As I locked my door, I yearned for the morning to come.

20150120_090520

This reminded me of Psalm 23:4 “Even when I walk through the darkest valley, I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me. Your rod and your staff protect and comfort me.” There are times when we have to walk through our “darkest valley” so that we can exercise our dependence on God. Even as we walk in the shadows, God’s protection is close at hand as his rod of corrections instill in us the desire to be near Him. And when we are with our Shepherd, we shall fear no evil. —

Leave a Reply

