Dream Wedding

vanessa-joy-vanessa-joy-photographer-Wedding-Ring-Shots-3

I glanced at my gold diamond engagement ring. Heck, I am late at my own wedding. Alighting from the bridal car, I’m catching my breath as I ran to the door located on the left of the altar where the groom is already reciting his vow before the pastor. How could he even say his vow when I am not yet around? I rushed to him and embraced him tightly. He was beaming and I felt loved. The ceremony resumed and we said our vows to each other. As I looked at my left hand that wore my gold wedding band, I marveled at how finally I found the love of my life. Then I woke up.

On my way to work that day, I was amused as I realized that in my dream, I did not even get the chance to walk down the aisle because I was in crazy rush. Funny it was, but it reminded me a few things.

God is never late. He is always on time. At 30, my family and friends are always like, “Oh, you’re getting old, when will you get married?” or “You don’t have a boyfriend yet??” as if being single is a social offense. But as I learned to trust God and His timing, it did not matter anymore when He is going to give me the right man. He may let me marry at 35, 40, 50 or even 60. It may not even happen at all and that is alright because my security in love comes from the LORD and not from the arms of any man.

True love waits. Walk down the aisle. Some people accuse me of being too picky. Some friends even encourage me to lower my standards just so I could get myself a boyfriend. But I already learned a lesson from the past. I rushed in love before when I was only 18 and still in college. And because the relationship was immature and self-centered, it brought me unnecessary pain and deep regrets that the process of moving on took me around seven years before I could eventually let go. Not that I have not loved at all. I did, but because it did not bring honor to God and the relationship was self-serving, it came crumbling down. Ladies, we are worth waiting for. And if God has destined someone out there for us, that someone also deserves the best of us. How do we do that? By guarding our purity, focusing on our relationship with God and serving others like our family while we wait. When that day to walk down the aisle finally comes, I can only imagine what a joy it will be…because we waited.

I took shortcuts. Is there still a way to make it right? Did we make bad choices in the past when it comes to relationships? Did we fall prey to lust, immorality or acting in dishonor to our parents because we were into the illusion that our happiness is the most important thing? The only way to make things right again is to be right with God first. And to be right with God is only possible through Jesus. As the apostle Paul puts it, “Yet now he has reconciled you to himself through the death of Christ in his physical body. As a result, he has brought you into his own presence, and you are holy and blameless as you stand before him without a single fault.” (Colossians 1:22). God can turn our past mistakes into something good if we surrender all to Him. He promises that in Romans 8:28 too, “And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.

Whether or not I am going to wear that beautiful wedding gown one day, I rest secure in God’s love for me. No wedding can ever come close. —

Leave a Reply

